JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. – The Missouri Petroleum Marketers and Convenience Store Operators Association announced a coalition of 110 legislators opposing Amendment 3, the Early Childhood Health and Education Amendment.

With a Supreme Court decision to leave the amendment on the ballot Tuesday afternoon, the coalition could help opponents prevent it from getting approval when voters head to the polls in 49 days.

While a strong majority of the supportive legislators were Republicans, including leadership in House Speaker Todd Richardson and Senate President Pro Tem Ron Richard, several Democrats also sided with the MPCA.

“Whether you’re Democrat or Republican, conservative or liberal, there is something in Amendment 3 for everyone and every group not to like,” said Ronald J. Leone, the association’s executive director.

Of the nineteen senators to oppose the amendment, three were Democrats: Sens. Maria Chappelle-Nadal, Jill Schupp and Gina Walsh.

Sen. Jamilah Nasheed, D-St. Louis, has been an outspoken supporter of the amendment.

In the House, 5 of the opponents are Democrats, including Minority Floor Leader Jake Hummel.

Support for Amendment 3 reaches across the state. Raise Your Hand for Kids, a group supporting the amendment, counts Democratic Rep. Jeremy LaFaver and Courtney Curtis among its proponents.

After the Supreme Court decision, the campaign for the amendment will take the singular spotlight.

To date, supporters count endorsements from Missouri School Boards’ Association, Associated Industries of Missouri, Missouri State NAACP, the Missouri Retailers’ Association, Missouri Budget Project, Child Care Aware of Missouri, Nurses for Newborns, the Maternal, Child & Family Health Coalition, the Missouri Association of Early Childhood Teacher Educators, SSM Health Care and St. Louis Mayor Francis Slay and Kansas City Mayor Sly James.

Opponents are joined by the American Cancer Society, American Heart Association, American Stroke Association, American Lung Association, Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids, Health Care Foundation of Greater Kansas City, Tobacco-Free Missouri, the Missouri National Education Association (MNEA), the Missouri Retired Teachers Association, the Missouri Association of Rural Education, Stowers Institute for Medical Research, BioSTL, Washington University in St. Louis, We Deserve Better, MOBIO, Missouri Cures, Concerned Women for America of Missouri, Missouri Alliance for Freedom and United for Missouri.

Missouri State Senators Opposing Amendment 3

  • Sen. Dan Brown, R-Rolla
  • Sen. Maria Chapelle-Nadal, D-University City
  • Sen. Mike Cunningham, R-Rogersville
  • Sen. Ed Emery, R-Lamar
  • Sen. Dan Hegeman, R-Cosby
  • Sen. Mike Kehoe, R-Jefferson City
  • Sen. Will Kraus, R-Lee’s Summit
  • Sen. Brian Munzlinger, R-Williamstown
  • Sen. Bob Onder, R-Lake St. Louis
  • Sen. Mike Parson, R-Bolivar
  • Sen. Ron Richard, R-Joplin
  • Sen. Gary Romine, R-Farmington
  • Sen. David Sater, R-Cassville
  • Sen. Rob Schaaf, R-St. Joseph
  • Sen. Dave Schatz, R-Sullivan
  • Sen. Eric Schmitt, R-Glendale
  • Sen. Jill Schupp, D-Creve Coeur
  • Sen. Gina Walsh, D-St. Louis
  • Sen. Paul Wieland, R-Imperial

Missouri State Representatives Opposing Amendment 3

  • Rep. Justin Alferman, R-Hermann
  • Rep. Sonya Anderson, R-Springfield
  • Rep. Allen Andrews, R-Grant City
  • Rep. Kevin Austin, R-Springfield
  • Rep. Kurt Bahr, R-O’Fallon
  • Rep. Chuck Basye, R-Rocheport
    Rep. Nathan Beard, R-Sedalia
  • Rep. Jack Bondon, R-Belton
  • Rep. Rick Brattin, R-Harrisonville
  • Rep. Wanda Brown, R-Lincoln
  • Rep. Eric Burlison, R-Springfield
  • Rep. Bob Burns, D-St. Louis
  • Rep. Jason Chipman, R-Steelville
  • Rep. Mike Cierpiot, R-Lee’s Summit
  • Rep. Kathie Conway, R-St. Charles
  • Rep. Steve Cookson, R-Poplar Bluff
  • Rep. Robert Cornejo, R-St. Charles
  • Rep. Sandy Crawford, R-Buffalo
  • Rep. Paul Curtman, R-Pacific
  • Rep. Charlie Davis, R-Webb City
  • Rep. Dean Dohrman, R-La Monte
  • Rep. J Eggleston, R-Maysville
  • Rep. Kevin Engler, R-Farmington
  • Rep. Scott Fitzpatrick, R-Shell Knob
  • Rep. Travis Fitzwater, R-Holts Summit
  • Rep. Tom Flanigan, R-Carthage
  • Rep. Lyndall Fraker, R-Marshfield
  • Rep. Diane Franklin, R-Camdenton
  • Rep. Keith Frederick, R-Rolla
  • Rep. Elaine Gannon, R-DeSoto
  • Rep. Elijah Haahr, R-Springfield
  • Rep. Marsha Haefner, R-St. Louis
  • Rep. Jim Hansen, R-Frankford
  • Rep. Galen Higdon, R-St. Joseph
  • Rep. Justin Hill, R-Lake St. Louis
  • Rep. Dave Hinson, R-St. Clair
  • Rep. Denny Hoskins, R-Warrensburg
  • Rep. Jay Houghton, R-Mexico
  • Rep. Tila Hubrecht, R-Dexter
  • Rep. Jacob Hummel, D-St. Louis
  • Rep. Tom Hurst, R-Meta
  • Rep. Delus Johnson, R-St. Joseph
  • Rep. Caleb Jones, R-Columbia
  • Rep. Jeffery Justus, R-Branson
  • Rep. Shelley Keeney Taylor, R-Marble Hill
  • Rep. Mike Kelley, R-Lamar
  • Rep. Bill Kidd, R-Independence
  • Rep. S. Nick King, R-Liberty
  • Rep. Andrew Koenig, R-Manchester
  • Rep. Glen Kolkmeyer, R-Odessa
  • Rep. Bart Korman, R-High Hill
  • Rep. Mike Leara, R-St. Louis
  • Rep. Donna Lichtenegger, R-Jackson
    Rep. Warren Love, R-Osceola
  • Rep. Steve Lynch, R-Waynesville
  • Rep. Nick Marshall, R-Parkville
  • Rep. Kirk Mathews, R-Pacific
  • Rep. John McCaherty, R-High Ridge
  • Rep. Tracy McCreery, D-St. Louis
  • Rep. Andrew McDaniel, R-Deering
  • Rep. Joe Don McGaugh, R-Carrollton
  • Rep. Jeffrey Messenger, R-Republic
  • Rep. Rocky Miller, R-Tuscumbia
  • Rep. Mike Moon, R-Ash Grove
  • Rep. Dave Muntzel, R-Boonville
  • Rep. Jim Neely, R-Cameron
  • Rep. Stacey Newman, D-St. Louis
  • Rep. Mark Parkinson, R-St. Charles
  • Rep. Joshua Peters, D-St. Louis
  • Rep. Don Phillips, R-Kimberling City
  • Rep. Tommie Pierson, D-St. Louis
  • Rep. Randy Pietzman, R-Troy
  • Rep. Craig Redmon, R-Canton
  • Rep. Holly Rehder, R-Sikeston
  • Rep. Bill Reiboldt, R-Neosho
  • Rep. Tim Remole, R-Excello
  • Rep. Shawn Rhoads, R-West Plains
  • Rep. Todd Richardson, R-Poplar Bluff
  • Rep. Shane Roden, R-Cedar Hill 
  • Rep. Rebecca Roeber, R-Lee’s Summit
  • Rep. Don Rone, R-Portageville
  • Rep. Robert Ross, R-Yukon
  • Rep. Lyle Rowland, R-Cedarcreek
  • Rep. Lindell Shumake, R-Hannibal
  • Rep. Chrissy Sommer, R-St. Charles
  • Rep. Bryan Spencer, R-Wentzville
  • Rep. Jered Taylor, R-Nixa
  • Rep. Rob Vescovo, R-Arnold
  • Rep. Nate Walker, R-Kirksville
  • Rep. Bill White, R-Joplin
  • Rep. John Wiemann, R-O’Fallon
  • Rep. Kenneth Wilson, R-Smithville
  • Rep. David Wood, R-Versailles