Press "Enter" to skip to content

Rep. DeGroot Named Chairman of ALEC Task Force on Civil Justice


JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. – State Representative Bruce DeGroot, R-Chesterfield, has been named chairman of the American Legislative Exchange Council’s Task Force on Civil Justice.

As chairman, DeGroot and the other task force members will work toward the goal of restoring fairness and predictability to the civil justice system by developing model policies to protect the legal system from frivolous litigation and foster economic growth through fair business practices.

Since its creation, the task force’s work has resulted in the development of 75 model policies focused on balancing the justice system in areas such as consumer protection liability, judicial overreach, asbestos litigation, workers’ compensation, product liability, anti-SLAPP public speech protection, jury service, sue and settle regulatory expansion and more.

“I am excited about the opportunity to continue ALEC’s tradition of being a leader on cutting-edge tort reforms,” DeGroot said. “I am honored to receive this chairmanship with the personal support from ALEC’s Chief Executive Officer Lisa Nelson.”

ALEC presents both public and private sector members with the chance to work together to develop policies for their respective states. Comprised of nearly one-quarter of the country’s state legislators and stakeholders from across the policy spectrum, ALEC members represent more than 60 million Americans and provide jobs to more than 30 million people in the United States, while also holding the distinction of being nation’s leading nonpartisan association of state legislators.

“I appreciate all the support ALEC has given me so far in my legislative career,” DeGroot said. “ALEC has proven to be a tremendous resource for state legislators across the country.”

Amy Kjose Anderson is ALEC’s Director of the Task Force on Civil Justice with Mark Behrens of Shook, Hardy & Bacon serving as the Private Chair.