Press "Enter" to skip to content

Release: Schaefer Announces Over 100 Legislative Endorsements


COLUMBIA, MO – Today, Senator Kurt Schaefer announced the endorsements of over 100 of his current legislative colleagues for his bid to secure the Republican nomination to become Missouri’s next Attorney General, showing strong support from every region of the state. The endorsements also include every member of both House and Senate leadership.

After endorsing Schaefer, Speaker of the House Todd Richardson said, “I have worked with Kurt Schaefer for several years now. In the legislature, Kurt has earned the reputation of being a straight shooter and has the utmost integrity. We need a tough Attorney General who has strong character and will fight to protect Missourians from special interests, crooks, and terrorists.”

When asked why he supported Senator Schaefer, former Buchanan County Sheriff and current State Representative Galen Higdon said, “We need a prosecutor, not a college professor as our next Attorney General. Kurt Schaefer was a prosecutor in the Attorney General’s office where he put away dangerous criminals including murderers, rapists and other serial abusers. In the State Senate, Kurt Schaefer authored bills to strengthen sentencing on sex offenders and to have mandatory sentencing for violent criminals. We need his experience in the Office of Attorney General.”

“I am honored to have the support of so many of my colleagues; over the last eight years, I have gotten to know and work with wonderful people from around the state,” said Schaefer. “No one knows better than my fellow legislators how badly we need an experienced and aggressive conservative in the Attorney General’s office, and I am flattered to be their choice.”

Senator Ron Richard, President Pro Tem

Senator Mike Kehoe, Majority Floor Leader

Senator Bob Onder, Assistant Majority Floor Leader

Senator Brian Munzlinger, Majority Caucus Whip

Senator Jay Wasson, Majority Caucus Secretary

Senator Eric Schmitt, Majority Caucus Chairman

Senator Dan Brown

Senator Mike Cunningham

Senator Ed Emery

Senator Dan Hegeman

Senator Doug Libla

Senator Jeanie Riddle

Senator Gary Romine

Senator David Sater

Senator Rob Schaaf

Senator Dave Schatz

Senator Ryan Silvey

Senator Paul Wieland

Representative Todd Richardson, Speaker of the House

Representative Denny Hoskins, Speaker Pro Tem

Representative Mike Cierpiot, Majority Floor Leader

Representative Kevin Austin, Assistant Majority Floor Leader

Representative Delus Johnson, Majority Whip

Representative Shelley Keeney Taylor, Majority Caucus Chair

Representative Mike Bernskoetter, Majority Caucus Secretary

Representative Justin Alferman

Representative Sue Allen

Representative Jay Barnes

Representative Chuck Basye

Representative T.J. Berry

Representative Linda Black

Representative Cloria Brown

Representative Wanda Brown

Representative Jason Chipman

Representative Kathie Conway

Representative Steve Cookson

Representative Robert Cornejo

Representative Paul Curtman

Representative Charlie Davis

Representative Dean Dohrman

Representative J. Eggleston

Representative Kevin Engler

Representative Scott Fitzpatrick

Representative Paul Fitzwater

Representative Travis Fitzwater

Representative Tom Flanigan

Representative Lyndall Fraker

Representative Diane Franklin

Representative Elaine Gannon

Representative Marsha Haefner

Representative Jim Hansen

Representative Ron Hicks

Representative Galen Higdon

Representative Dave Hinson

Representative Lincoln Hough

Representative Jay Houghton

Representative Tila Hubrecht

Representative Tom Hurst

Representative Caleb Jones

Representative Mike Kelley

Representative Bill Kidd

Representative Nick King

Representative Glen Kolkmeyer

Representative Bill Lant

Representative Mike Leara

Representative Donna Lichtenegger

Representative Warren Love

Representative Kirk Mathews

Representative John McCaherty

Representative Andrew McDaniel

Representative Joe Don McGaugh

Representative Rocky Miller

Representative Dave Muntzel

Representative Jim Neely

Representative Don Phillips

Representative Randy Pietzman

Representative Patricia Pike

Representative Dean Plocher

Representative Craig Redmon

Representative Holly Rehder

Representative Bill Reiboldt

Representative Tim Remole

Representative Shawn Rhoads

Representative Shane Roden

Representative Rebecca Roeber

Representative Don Rone

Representative Caleb Rowden

Representative Lyle Rowland

Representative Becky Ruth

Representative Dan Shaul

Representative Noel Shull

Representative Lindell Shumake

Representative Sheila Solon

Representative Chrissy Sommer

Representative Bryan Spencer

Representative Kathryn Swan

Representative Rob Vescovo

Representative Nate Walker

Representative John Wiemann

Representative David Wood

Representative Anne Zerr