Press "Enter" to skip to content

Baker formally announces campaign for treasurer


COLUMBIA, Mo. – Former state representative Judy Baker has officially announced her campaign for state treasurer under the banner, “Make Change.” She said she hopes to “make Missouri’s money work for everybody, not just a few.”


“We need to make change in Missouri,” Baker said in her announcement. ” We need to invest Missouri’s money in Missouri’s people. For too long families have struggled to get ahead because of lack of access to resources to buy homes, start businesses, or secure a postsecondary education. Now more than ever we need leaders who will make every tax dollar go further and do more.

“By focusing on transparency and economic development, we will make Missouri taxpayers a priority again,” she continued. “An annual report card will make state government accountable to taxpayers while leveraging innovative financial incentives will encourage economic development in our state’s lagging economy. It’s time for Missouri taxpayers to get ahead and we can do it while keeping our tax dollars safe and putting them to work for Missouri’s middle-class families.”

Baker, a Democrat from Columbia, enters the race with the support of St. Louis City Treasurer Tishaura Jones and former state senator Wes Shoemyer.

“I am proud to join leaders from across Missouri in supporting Judy Baker for Missouri Treasurer,” said Jones. “She has put Missouri citizens first her entire career and her commitment to transparency and economic development is sorely needed in state government. Treasurer Clint Zweifel has done a good job of protecting public funds and Judy is the right person to continue this commitment to integrity. Judy’s common-sense approach to financial management will not only safeguard but grow taxpayer dollars, putting them to work for Missouri families.”

Baker’s campaign committee was established on September 18, 2015. She is joined in her bid for the Democratic nomination by Pat Contreras. Currently, state Sen. Eric Schmitt is the only Republican in the race.