Press "Enter" to skip to content

English, other independent candidates qualify for November ballot

Green Party also qualifies

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. – Rep. Keith English and eleven other independent candidates have qualified for the November ballot, the Secretary of State’s office announced Tuesday.

The office also announced that the Green Party had qualified for the ballot.

To qualify, independent candidates had to submit submit valid signatures of registered Missouri voters in the district equal to at least 2 percent of the total number of votes cast in the last election in that district or 10,000 signatures, whichever is less.

Lester Benton Turilli, Jr. qualified as an independent candidate for governor.

Tim Wells qualified as an independent candidate for the state Senate in District 31.

In addition to English, William Lee (HD45), Debra Dilks (HD48), Joy Elliott (HD 86), Jon Schuessler (HD 111), George R. Parsons (HD127), Janet Sheffield (HD128), Charles Matranga (HD129), Terry Hampton (HD154) and Stephanie Davis (HD157) qualified for the ballot in races for state representative.

English decided late in the process to run for office again. He had switched from Democrat to independent during his last elected term.

With the Green Party’s certification for the ballot, they will have candidates for president, vice president, U.S. Senate, four statewide offices and two U.S. House races.

Jill Stein is the Green Party candidate for president and Ajamu Baraka is her running mate. Don Fitz will run for governor. Jennifer Leach will run for lieutenant governor. Julia Carlson is running for secretary of state. And Carol Hexem is running for treasurer.

Johnathan McFarland is the party’s U.S. Senate candidate. David Justus Arnold is running for U.S. House in District 2 and Mike Diel is running in District 6.

The party also has six state legislature candidates. Edward R. Weissler is running in the 3rd Senate District. Valorie Engholm (19), Teressa Rose Ezell (80), Tim Hammack (105), Ellen J Skiljan (109) and Robert Debbaut (140) are House candidates.