Press "Enter" to skip to content

Grier to replace Evans as chair of the House Economic Development Committee


Press release

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. – On Wednesday, Speaker Elijah Haahr, R-Springfield, announced Rep. Derek Grier, R-Chesterfield, as the Chairman of the House Economic Development Committee. Grier will replace former Rep. Jean Evans, R-St. Louis, who resigned yesterday to serve as the next Executive Director of the Missouri Republican Party.

“Derek is an outstanding member to lead the efforts of this committee in driving economic growth in Missouri,” said Speaker Haahr. “His experience and passion to foster bold and innovative ideas is a perfect fit for creating a competitive advantage for Missouri in expanding current businesses and attracting new businesses to the state.”

The House Economic Development Committee is the primary committee in reviewing strategic initiatives and identifying opportunities that will accelerate growth in the state.

Rep. Grier operates a small business in the St. Louis region focused on real estate management, acquisitions, and consulting. He has been an active member of numerous business organizations, including the Chamber of Commerce.

Speaker Haahr also named Rep. Jeff Coleman, R-Grain Valley, the vice-chair of the committee. Rep. Coleman is a financial advisor and has served as president of both the Grain Valley Economic Development Corporation and Grain Valley Industrial Development Committee.

“It is an honor to be chosen by Speaker Haahr to lead Missouri and the economic community through this committee,” said Rep. Grier. “I look forward to addressing the current economic conditions we face and to promote fiscally responsible policies that grow our economy and help generate more jobs, and produce a brighter economic future for Missourians.”

Haahr added, “The chair and vice-chair represent two different important economic centers in the state. The perspectives they both bring to the table from their geographic region will ensure that the initiatives the House moves forward are beneficial statewide.”