Press "Enter" to skip to content

Missouri House special elections results


Out of the six House races up for grabs Tuesday in special elections across the state, Democrats won five — including an upset in a St. Louis County seat

The Secretary of State’s Office released unofficial results Wednesday in the six races: HD 22, HD 36, HD 74, HD 78, HD 99, and HD 158. Secretary of State Jay Ashcroft expects the results to be certified by early December. 

In St. Louis County, where two special elections were held (HD 74 and HD 99), nearly 9,000 people voted out of more than 53,000 registered voters, according to unofficial turnout numbers. That included 556 absentee ballots and 8,399 people who voted on Election Day. 

Unofficial election results are below: 

HD 22

Yolanda Young (D) — 2,357 votes

Tammy Herrera (R) — 325 votes

Jeff Francis (G) — 206 votes 

Previously held by: Democrat Brandon Ellington

HD 36 

Mark Sharp (D) — 3,018 votes

Bob Voorhees (G) — 409

Write-ins — 711

Previously held by: Democrat DaRon McGee

HD 74 

Mike Person (D) — 812 votes

Nick Kasoff (L) — 604

Previously held by: Democrat Cora Faith Walker

HD 78 

Rasheen Aldridge (D) — 908

Write-ins — 87

Previously held by: Democrat Bruce Franks

HD 99

Trish Gunby (D) — 3,357

Lee Ann Pitman (R) — 2,855 votes

Previously held by: Republican Jean Evans

HD 158

Scott Cupps (R) — 1,841 votes

Lisa Kalp (D) — 387 votes 

Previously held by: Republican Scott Fitzpatrick 

Trish Gunby upsets Republican to win HD 99 special election