Press "Enter" to skip to content

Pace, Smith swap seats on Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. – Michael B. Pace, West Plains, has been named the new chair of the Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission, and Gregg C. Smith, Clinton, is the new vice chair.

Michael Pace
Michael Pace

Smith had served as the chair, but during their monthly meeting this past Wednesday, the commission rotated the leadership positions.

Both men were appointed to the commission by former Gov. Jay Nixon, with Pace joining the commission in January 2015 and Smith in June 2013.

“I am very pleased to be nominated and elected chairman,” Pace said. “I promise that I will do my very best to represent each and every one of you.”

Pace also thanked Smith, saying he had given so much time in his role as chair for the past year and had done an excellent job.

Pace is a retired brigadier general in the Army National Guard and has served nearly 33 years in the Missouri State Highway Patrol, achieving the rank of major. When he retired, he was director of the Criminal Investigation Bureau located in Jefferson City.

Gregg Smith
Gregg Smith

Smith is president and owner of Gregg Smith Ford Lincoln, Inc., and Wilder RV.

The six-member bipartisan commission governs the Missouri Department of Transportation.

Other commission members are Tom Waters of Orrick, Mary Nelson from St. Louis and John Briscoe of New London.

One position is currently vacant, awaiting an appointment from Gov. Eric Greitens.