Press "Enter" to skip to content

Press Release: House Speaker Tim Jones Names Missouri Citizens to Educational Standards Workgroups



                 From the Office of

                                Speaker Timothy W. Jones

110th District


September 22, 2014                                                

CONTACT:    Speaker Timothy W. Jones

                                    (573) 751-0562



House Speaker Tim Jones Names Missouri

Citizens to Educational Standards Workgroups


JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. – House Speaker Tim Jones today announced his selections to the new Missouri Educational Standards workgroups that were formed with the passage of HB 1490. Jones selected 16 parents and 11 education professionals to participate in the discussions the eight workgroups will have to determine new educational benchmarks for Missouri students.


HB 1490 was passed by the Missouri General Assembly during the 2014 regular session to reject the federal Common Core standards and begin a process of developing Missouri-based student achievement benchmarks. The bill created the workgroups to develop new standards to be put in place by the 2016 academic year. Under the bill, the work groups are be made up of teachers, parents and other experts who will work to develop standards for English, math, science and history. As Speaker of the House, Jones is empowered to nominate four individuals – two parents of current students and two education professionals – to each of the eight workgroups.


“Our best chance of giving our young people access to a world class education is by keeping the decisions regarding the standards we use on a local level. With the collaborative effort of Missouri parents and educators, we can develop learning standards that will better allow our young people to succeed academically, and professionally as adults,” said Jones, R-Eureka.


Jones added, “I am excited to name these outstanding individuals to the workgroups. I have every confidence they will be valuable contributors to a discussion that will determine the standards by which students will be measured in the future.”


Jones made the following nominations to the various workgroups:


English Language Arts (K-5)

Parents: Jill Carter of Granby and Stephanie Bailey of St. Louis

Education Professionals: Jennifer Hill of St. Louis and Martha Staggs of Paris


Mathematics (K-5)

Parents: Brad Noel of Jackson and Caroline Perigo of Neosho

Education Professional: Kimberly Bostic of Mehlville


Science (K-5)

Parents: Alex Salsman of Troy and Beverly Peters of Marble Hill

Education Professional: Elizabeth Chadbourne of Piedmont


Social Studies (K-5)

Parents: Tonya Long of Peculiar and Paul Ellison of Chilhowee

Education Professional: Tonya Watkins of Charleston


English Language Arts (6-12)

Parents: Heather Drury of Sikeston and Elizabeth Lauber of Kirkwood

Education Professionals: Nicholas Kremer of Columbia and Kasey Brycki of Dardenne Prairie


Mathematics (6-12)

Parents: Laura Martin of Osage Beach and Patrick Theobold of Marshfield

Education Professionals: Maggie Schmitz of Warsaw and Dr. Yunchen Cheng of Springfield


Science (6-12)

Parents: Kimberly Benz of Florissant and Toni Becker of Poplar Bluff

Education Professionals: Jason Frencken of Pine Grove and Claira Bennion of Camdenton


Social Studies (6-12)

Parents: Van Harvey of St. Charles and Julie Thomas of Lake Ozark


The workgroups are scheduled to hold their first meeting in Jefferson City today, Monday, Sept. 22.