Press "Enter" to skip to content

Sen. Doug Libla Named Chairman of the Senate Small Business Committee


JEFFERSON CITY — Senate President Pro Tem Ron Richard, R-Joplin, announced Sen. Doug Libla, R-Poplar Bluff, will serve as Chairman of the Senate Small Business and Industry Committee during the 99th General Assembly.

“It is an honor to have been named Chairman of the Small Business and Industry Committee,” Sen. Libla said. “I look forward to working with committee members to ensure the passage of meaningful legislation. Remember, if there is a bill that you are passionate about, the best way to make a difference is by visiting your State Capitol and testifying at the committee hearing.”

The committee shall consider and report upon bills and matters referred to it relating to the ownership and operation of small businesses. The committee shall also debate, study, and hear public testimony on legislation relating to labor management, fair employment standards, worker’s compensation and employment security within the state and shall examine legislation relating to industrial development.

Several key issues are expected to be brought before the committee, such as workforce and economic development, tort reform, and unemployment insurance. “I recognize the importance of these issues to every Missourian,” Sen. Libla said. “Missouri faces a number of economic challenges, with job creation and retention being at the top of the list. We need high-quality and high-paying jobs that empower workers to have a positive impact on the communities where they live, both economically and as leaders contributing to the overall quality of life.”

Senator Libla was re-elected to a second term in the Missouri Senate last November. He proudly serves the counties of Butler, Carter, Dunklin, Mississippi, New Madrid, Pemiscot, Shannon and Stoddard. In addition to his new duties as chair of the Small Business and Industry Committee, Sen. Libla will serve as vice-chairman of the General Laws Committee.

To view a full list of Sen. Libla’s committee assignments and sponsored legislation, visit his official Senate website at