Press "Enter" to skip to content

Several gubernatorial appointees soar through committee


JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. — In a straight forward hearing, more than 20 gubernatorial appointees were confirmed in committee and now will move on to the Senate floor.

The bulk of those up for review where appointees to the Child Abuse and Neglect Review Board.

“I understand the importance of advocating for children,” Kristen M. Ruohy Avila told the committee.

Most of the appointee ecod her sentiment on why they wanted to be apart of the board.

“I want to make sure children don’t fall through the cracks,” Joy A. Sweigart said.

Gubernatorial Appointments Committee Chairman Ron Richard said that he was impressed with the qualifications of the appointees and what they had to offer.

Other members of the Child Abuse and Neglect Review Board up for review were Elaine Buschjost, Donna J. Neely, William Atherton, Adrienne D. Atzemis, James W. Blair, Nancy E. Birch, Barbara Brown-Johnson, Mary B. Bozarth, William C. Prince, Jack C. Jensen, DiAnne L. Mueller, Grant Rummerfield, Danielle T. Smith, Matthew D. Kliethermes and Courtney Kovachevich.

Also before the committee was Sharon Faulkner, Monica A. Davis and Cherisse M. Thibaut as members of the Children’s Trust Fund Board; Thomas J. Frawley and Emily C. Hymer as members of the Missouri State Foster Care and Adoption Board; Elizabeth C. Galt as a member of the Missouri Planning Council for Developmental Disabilities; and Benjamin D. Rosenberg as a member of the Missouri Southern State University Board of Governors.

The committee unanimously, in a 11-0 vote, approved all appointees to move on to the full Senate.