Senate Majority Caucus re-elects Ron Richard as President Pro Tem


Majority Caucus Leaders Say Top Issues for Next Session Include Labor and Regulatory Reform

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. – Sen. Ron Richard, R-Joplin, will keep his position as President Pro Tem of the Missouri Senate.

The Senate Majority Caucus re-elected Richard, who served as Pro Tem at the end of the first session of the 98th General Assembly. Prior to that Richard had served as Senate Majority Floor Leader and Speaker of the House.

“I am excited to work together with my current and newly elected colleagues, and we won’t waste time getting ready for next session,” said Richard. “We will have a new governor this year, and I’m encouraged that we will work together to bring jobs to the Show-Me State. We will act quickly so Missourians can get back to work.”

The President Pro Tem is responsible for appointing committee members, assigning legislation to committees, and ruling on points of order raised during debate in the Senate Chamber, among other powers.

The Senate Majority Caucus also re-elected Sen. Mike Kehoe, R-Jefferson City, re-elected as Majority Floor Leader.

“I expect to have a good working relationship with all of the senators once again this session,” Sen. Kehoe said. “With good communication we can work towards our goals of economic development, labor reform, and regulatory reform.”

The caucus also re-elected Sen. Bob Onder, R-Lake St. Louis, as Assistant Majority Floor Leader, and Sen. Brian Munzlinger, R-Williamstown, as Majority Caucus Whip.

Sen. Dan Hegeman was elected as Majority Caucus Chairman, and Sen. Jay Wasson, R-Nixa, was re-elected as Majority Caucus Secretary.

Richard said the entire caucus will meet later this month to discuss priorities for the upcoming session. The 99th General Assembly will convene on Wednesday, Jan. 4, 2017.