Press "Enter" to skip to content

Haahr creates Special Committee on Government Oversight


Press release

Jefferson City, Mo – On Tuesday, Speaker of the House Elijah Haahr announced the creation of the Special Committee on Government Oversight. The committee is charged with the reviewing and monitoring of policy implementation by the executive branch and its departments.

“We have a deep commitment to ensuring the government is a good steward of taxpayers’ money and is transparent in its actions,” said Haahr.

He appointed Robert Ross to chair the committee. Ross is in his fourth term in the House and serves on the Budget Committee and as Chairman of the Professional Registration and Licensing Committee. Outside of his duties of a representative, he is small business owner.

“I look forward to leading this committee and being a watchdog of the effects decisions made by the administration have on Missourians and their tax dollars,” said Ross. “Having an in-depth knowledge of the state’s $30 billion budget and my understanding as a small business owner of how Missourians expect their hard-earned dollars to be used will guide the course of this committee.”

House Rules allow the Speaker of the House to appoint special standing committees as he deems necessary.

Haahr named the following members to the committee:
Rep. Robert Ross, R-Yukon (Chairman)
Rep. Nick Schroer, R-O’Fallon (Vice Chair)
Rep. Dan Houx, R-Warrensburg
Rep. Dirk Deaton, R-Noel
Rep. Rudy Veit, R-Wardsville
Rep. Kip Kendrick, D-Columbia
Rep. Peter Merideth, D-St. Louis City

“The members of this committee have a long history of demanding accountability of government. I am confident this committee will thoroughly review and scrutinize our bureaucracy to ensure our government is operating in a way that is deserving of Missourians’ trust,” said Haahr.