Press "Enter" to skip to content

General Assembly sends constitutional amendment on term limits to ballot

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. — Missouri lawmakers are posing a question to voters on whether all statewide elected officials should be subjected to term limits.

On Friday, the General Assembly truly agreed and finally passed a constitutional amendment which, upon voter approval, would limit the lieutenant governor, secretary of state, auditor, and attorney general to being elected to only two four-year terms.

Currently, the governor and state treasurer are the only statewide offices subjected to term limits.

“The voters of Missouri have made it clear they emphatically support term limits. This measure will bring consistency to our term limits for all state officials and prevent them from becoming career politicians,” Sen. Tony Luetkemeyer told the Missouri Times.

But not everyone was on board with the measure.

During debate on the House floor, Rep. Brandon Ellington argued against SJR 14. He noted he used to be in favor of term limits until he became a lawmaker and saw lobbyists were the only ones with “institutional knowledge.”

“Term limits have proven to be a hindrance,” said Ellington.