Press "Enter" to skip to content

Parson calls November special elections for vacant House seats


JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. – Gov. Mike Parson has called for special elections to fill four vacancies in the Missouri House.

The elections to fill the seats previously occupied by Democratic Reps. Brandon Ellington, DaRon McGee, Cora Faith Walker, and Bruce Franks Jr. will take place on Nov. 5. Candidates for the seats must be selected and filed by August 22.

“We greatly appreciate the service of Representatives Ellington, McGee, Walker, and Franks to the State of Missouri,” Parson said in a statement. “We will work quickly to fill these vacancies and ensure that all Missourians are represented here in the Capitol.”

Rep. Cora Faith Walker submitted her resignation from representing HD 74 in General Assembly in July. The Democrat from St. Louis County was appointed director of policy for St. Louis County.

In May, Rep. Bruce Franks Jr. announced his resignation from HD 78 citing family and mental health. In Facebook post in July, the St. Louis City activist-turned-lawmaker noted he was leaving the state.

Winning a seat on the Kansas City Council in June, Rep. Brandon Ellington also left the legislature.

Following an ethics investigation, Kansas City Democrat Rep. DaRon McGee, then the assistant floor minority leader, resigned from respenting HD 36.

“I applaud the Governor for his commitment to ensure all Missourians are fully represented in the legislature,” Secretary of State Jay Ashcroft said in a statement.

In total, six House Districts will elected a representative on the first Tuesday of November. In April, Missouri’s chief executive called for a special election to fill the vacancies left with the resignation of now-Treasurer Scott Fitzpatrick and now-Missouri Republican Party Executive Director Jean Evans.

Thus far, Parson hasn’t signaled a special election to fill HD 34 which has been left vacant following the death of Republican Rep. Rebecca Roeber earlier this week.

View Parson’s official writs of election: 22nd House District, 36th House District, 74th House District, and 78th House District.